Happy International Dog Day

26th Aug, Pune, India

My brother and I grew up with dogs! We learnt to share and to appreciate all that our humans did for us, in this case my parents did for us with loads of love, hugs and kisses! I believed that there was not a person in the world who could not love a dog ever!

Then I came across cats and wondered – are dogs and cats like sworn enemies! Always hissing and barking at each other! I wondered what was the story behind this?

Then I came across a few humans who were cruel to animals! Abusing them, abandoning them, starving them, being so violent that a place in hell would not even cut it for them.

I was left to change my perceptions over the years! So I put myself in a dog’s shoes. Imagine being abandoned as a human, that feeling of someone not wanting you enough, imagine being kicked for stealing a bite or shot for entering a farm in search of food! Imagine being crushed on the road and your remains spilled over in bloody bits!

They say the world has gone to the dogs! If the world would really go to the dogs, imagine if they took revenge on humanity for all the cruel things that happen to them! But nope, they are and have always been the most loving, the most trusting and the most loyal to us!

We will never know what we have done to deserve their infinite love! Here’s to wishing all doggos a Happy International Dog Day! Let’s learn to be humans again from our dogs!

Leave a Comment