Ride Or Die Over Potholes

29th March, 2022, Pune, India

As a kid, riding mum’s decadent Luna was a thrill in itself! Dada taught me to ride a bike when I was a cranky 6 year old, still am, crankier and older! πŸ˜πŸ‘΅

I knew all the potholes on the road from mom’s place on the old Pune Mumbai Highway right upto my school in Model Colony! Every detail on the road was important! Which speed breaker was a camel’s hump, which pothole was actually a well, and which incline was tough to cycle! πŸ›£

I used to cycle all the way, feel grown-up while crossing the railway crossing and count the train boogies every darn time! πŸš‚

Then adulthood hit and I moved from riding the cycle to the Luna, to a white Scooty, then an activa and finally my car! πŸš—

At this point in my life, I just drive the car and miss out on half the wonderful sights when one rides a cycle! πŸš΄β€β™€οΈ

Today, I rode the activa after ages (count them as years when you have 2 sons always calling the dibs on it). The roads have changed. The potholes have changed too! They test your balance and your nerve on managing to stay sane on your seat! πŸ›΅

Some potholes have been redone to make the road smoother and managed to do just the opposite! My friends and me used to actually name the potholes depending on their tenacity to give you the backache of the century!

When my elder son ferries me around on the activa, I have to remind him that he has a pillion rider or the next time he speeds over that Burj Khalifa kind of speed breaker with a parallel pothole running next to it, I might just be transported right to Mars, Elon Musk be damned! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Leave a Comment