About Aie

8th Aug, Pune, India

The thing that she most loves is dipping a slice of Kayani’s choco-walnut cake in a huge mug of chai and tasting that soaked bite with relish that brings absolute content to those Sunday mornings! She calls out to me when I wear shorts at home and prance around as if it’s my kingdom. It is my kingdom, but ruled by her. 😉 She is meticulous to a fault. Always scavenging for dirtied clothes that have been discarded and not found their way to the washing machine, courtesy her grandsons.

Her morning routine is set, have chai, dress up and go for a 45 minute walk, make small talk with the regulars, get sniffed for new smells by the two doggos – that’s Rog and Cokes and slide down my car wipers after they’ve been bathed by my car wash guy! She has raised her sons all alone since 1985 after she lost her husband to a heart attack. Her favourite are chicken hakka noodles, ofcourse made by yours truly and she is excellent when it comes to calculation and communication!

What else do you need in a mother-in-law who lets you have your space? I admire her from afar since she abhors physical contact and I am probably the only one privy to hugging and kissing her other than her granddaughters! Why am I writing a plog on her today, just, no reason! If I ever need a different perspective on life decisions, she will narrate one of her stories that actually get the matter home quickly! She and me are same in a lot ways but we do hold on to our individuality tenaciously! Guess that’s what we admire the most in each other! ☺️

Leave a Comment